Gopher's Minions
Roachbait FNV

Groundwork for a new gaming PC

Hey all... :D

Yep, ol' Roachbait here is looking for advice on building/buying a new system to run newer games on...

Things like the new Skyrim, Fallout 4, and (of course) New Vegas...

...or whatever else happens to come along, in the near future.

Here's the scoop:

My little ol' laptop (an HP-2000) just ain't cuttin' the mustard anymore...and, it doesn't do the Wasteland Maid Service much justice as far as frame-rate, and play-ability has been goin', for a very long time now (over 4 years).

Seeing how I do construction for a living (again), and that my financial situation has been a shambles (up to now), I've been a bit 'out-of-the-loop', as far as how much the tech has passed me by...

To put it simply, I've had bigger concerns than "What sort of computer should I buy/build for games/recording for Youtube..."

...you know, stuff like food, and shelter from the elements...that sort of thing.

Now that things are looking a LOT better for me, I feel the time has come to upgrade to something far better than a glorified doorstop that barely runs New Vegas at a wonderful 20-30 FPS when I'm not recording, and about 10 FPS when I am...

(Ugh...the lag...it's been wearing at me for too long, I think...).

So, any suggestions are welcome, hell...feel free to argue about what's best...

The more input I get, the better I'll be able to decide on which way to go with it, and what to eventually get.

Besides that, I feel that relocating the Wasteland Maid Service to Boston, or Skyrim (or both) seems like a way to go...

And, who wouldn't want to see me loose my mind trying to clean up the Glowing Sea, or being eaten by uppity dragons? :rolleyes:

I have no idea...

But yeah, feel free to toss in your two-cents-worth... :D

Roachbait FNV

Intel Quad-Core i7-7700   $350 -$400

16GB DDR4 RAM    $150 -$200

500 GB SSD $100  and 1TB HDD  $50